Call for nominations

Dear ESP Member,

In a continuing effort to promote Photobiology, the European Society for Photobiology (ESP) offers a Young Investigator Award to a young researcher who has conducted original research of exceptionally high quality in a field related to Photobiology.
The award will be presented at the World Congress on Light and Life (17th Congress of the International Union of Photobiology and 18th Congress of the European Society for Photobiology), which will be held in Barcelona (Spain) from the 25th to the 30th August 2019, where the awardee will deliver a plenary lecture.

Previous awardees were:
Ilaria Testa (2017), Alex R. Jones (2015); Abhishek D. Garg and Katie M. Dixon (2013); Scott N. Byrne (2011); Cristina Flors and Gonzalo Cosa (2009); Virginie Lhiaubet-Vallet (2007); Jean-Yves Matroule (2005); Christoph Abels (2003)

You are warmly encouraged to nominate a candidate for this Award.

For eligibility candidates should be 35 years old or less and ESP Members in good standing at the moment of their nomination.
Exceptionally, older candidates can be considered where there is evidence of a career break, i.e. maternity leave .

Nominations should be sent by e-mail to by April 15, 2019 at the latest. The nomination will be examined by the Education and Training Committee and approved with an indisputable decision by the Executive commission.
The nomination letter must be accompanied by:

  1. A motivation letter in favour of the nominee;
  2. A CV and a list of the publications of the nominee in decreasing order of relevance;
  3. A short description of the actual research activities of the nominee.